Catawba County is located northwest of Charlotte in the State of North Carolina and covers 405 square miles (656.10 Km). The central county of North Carolina's 8th largest MSA (2021 population – 366,441), Catawba County's 2021 population of 161,723 includes the inhabitants of its eight municipalities. These municipalities include Brookford , Catawba, Claremont, Conover, Hickory, Long View, Maiden, and Newton, the county seat of Catawba County.

Interstate-40 runs east to west through Catawba County. Accessible via US Highway 321, Interstate-85 is reachable in approximately 30 minutes. Interstate-77 is also reachable in 30 minutes via Interstate-40.

Catawba County is located within one hour of the City of Charlotte, home of the Charlotte-Douglas International Airport and headquarters of Bank of America. The Appalachian resort areas of Boone and Blowing Rock are within an hour’s drive. The City of Asheville, home of the Biltmore Estate, lies less than an hour and a half to the West. Winston-Salem and Greensboro lie an hour and a half to the East, respectively.


The gently rolling terrain blends into the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains offering residents an abundance of scenic attractions, a wealth of recreational options, and a temperate climate with four seasons that are as distinct as they are mild.

The shelter of the mountains moderate winter temperatures and provides refreshing summer breezes providing an environment and ambiance favorable for year-round outdoor activities.

January 29.3 49.1 3.83
February 32.1 53.1 3.72
March 38.7 61.1 4.24
April 46.8 70.1 3.71
May 55.2 77.4 3.68
June 64 84.8 4.12
July 67.5 87.6 4.44
August 66.7 86.1 4.1
September 59.6 79.7 3.71
October 48.2 70.4 3.55
November 39 60.8 3.46
December 31.4 50.9 3.7